Classified

BFO - Basic Formal Ontology

The upper level ontology upon which OBO Foundry ontologies are built.

Ontology metadata

Topicsdata management
SpeciesAll life
Class Count35
Unsatisfiable classes0
dc:contributor
Mathias Brochhausen
obo:IAO_0000116
BFO 2 Reference: BFO does not claim to be a complete coverage of all entities. It seeks only to provide coverage of those entities studied by empirical science together with those entities which affect or are involved in human activities such as data processing and planning – coverage that is sufficiently broad to provide assistance to those engaged in building domain ontologies for purposes of data annotation [17
rdfs:comment
The http://purl.obolibary.org/obo/bfo/classes-only.owl variant of BFO ("bfo_classes_only.owl") includes only the class hierarchy and annotations from the full OWL version of BFO 2: http://purl.obolibary.org/obo/bfo.owl ("bfo.owl"). There are no object properties or logical axioms that use the object properties in bfo_classes_only.owl. As the logical axioms in the bfo_classes_only.owl variant are limited to subclass and disjoint assertions they are much weaker than the logical axioms in bfo.owl.
 
If you plan to use the relations that define BFO 2, you should import bfo.owl instead of bfo_classes_only.owl. To the extent that the relations are used without importing bfo.owl, be mindful that they should be used in a manner consistent with their use in bfo.owl. Otherwise if your ontology is imported by a another ontology that imports bfo.owl there may be inconsistencies. 
 
See the BFO 2 release notes for further information about BFO 2. Please note that the current release of bfo.owl uses temporal relations when the subject or object is a continuant, a major change from BFO 1.
Date Download
Thu, 05 May 2016 20:03:46 GMT Download...
Thu, 05 May 2016 19:17:53 GMT Download...
Thu, 05 May 2016 17:31:18 GMT Download...
Wed, 04 May 2016 19:21:31 GMT Download...
Tue, 03 May 2016 19:21:26 GMT Download...
Wed, 27 Apr 2016 19:28:33 GMT Download...
Mon, 25 Apr 2016 19:14:58 GMT Download...
Sun, 24 Apr 2016 19:21:16 GMT Download...
Sat, 23 Apr 2016 19:22:17 GMT Download...
Fri, 22 Apr 2016 19:26:01 GMT Download...
Thu, 21 Apr 2016 19:10:35 GMT Download...
Wed, 20 Apr 2016 19:21:56 GMT Download...
Tue, 19 Apr 2016 19:22:28 GMT Download...
Mon, 18 Apr 2016 19:20:20 GMT Download...
Sun, 17 Apr 2016 19:09:15 GMT Download...
Sat, 16 Apr 2016 19:21:10 GMT Download...
Fri, 15 Apr 2016 19:22:33 GMT Download...
Wed, 13 Apr 2016 19:31:30 GMT Download...
Tue, 12 Apr 2016 19:30:28 GMT Download...
Mon, 11 Apr 2016 19:29:53 GMT Download...
Sun, 10 Apr 2016 19:29:21 GMT Download...
Sat, 09 Apr 2016 19:27:16 GMT Download...
Fri, 08 Apr 2016 19:25:23 GMT Download...
Thu, 07 Apr 2016 19:28:19 GMT Download...
Wed, 06 Apr 2016 19:21:53 GMT Download...
Tue, 05 Apr 2016 19:22:37 GMT Download...
Mon, 04 Apr 2016 19:35:07 GMT Download...
Sun, 03 Apr 2016 19:23:18 GMT Download...
Sat, 02 Apr 2016 19:20:53 GMT Download...
Fri, 01 Apr 2016 19:22:19 GMT Download...
Thu, 31 Mar 2016 19:23:29 GMT Download...
Wed, 30 Mar 2016 19:21:53 GMT Download...
Tue, 29 Mar 2016 19:24:09 GMT Download...
Mon, 28 Mar 2016 19:21:50 GMT Download...
Sun, 27 Mar 2016 19:10:41 GMT Download...
Sat, 26 Mar 2016 19:11:41 GMT Download...
Fri, 25 Mar 2016 19:22:28 GMT Download...
Thu, 24 Mar 2016 19:23:50 GMT Download...
Wed, 23 Mar 2016 19:23:14 GMT Download...
Tue, 22 Mar 2016 19:21:39 GMT Download...
Mon, 21 Mar 2016 19:25:30 GMT Download...
Sun, 20 Mar 2016 19:25:38 GMT Download...
Sat, 19 Mar 2016 19:21:53 GMT Download...
Fri, 18 Mar 2016 19:22:24 GMT Download...
Thu, 17 Mar 2016 19:21:39 GMT Download...
Wed, 16 Mar 2016 19:22:06 GMT Download...
Tue, 15 Mar 2016 19:18:57 GMT Download...
Sun, 13 Mar 2016 19:18:18 GMT Download...
Sat, 12 Mar 2016 19:17:24 GMT Download...
Sat, 12 Mar 2016 14:21:13 GMT Download...
Fri, 11 Mar 2016 19:18:30 GMT Download...
Thu, 10 Mar 2016 19:17:42 GMT Download...
Tue, 08 Mar 2016 19:17:00 GMT Download...
Mon, 07 Mar 2016 19:21:59 GMT Download...
Sun, 06 Mar 2016 19:37:38 GMT Download...
Wed, 04 Nov 2015 19:38:38 GMT Download...
Tue, 03 Nov 2015 19:36:18 GMT Download...
Mon, 02 Nov 2015 19:35:21 GMT Download...
Sun, 01 Nov 2015 19:34:47 GMT Download...
Sat, 31 Oct 2015 19:46:27 GMT Download...
Fri, 30 Oct 2015 19:41:53 GMT Download...
Thu, 29 Oct 2015 19:42:07 GMT Download...
Wed, 28 Oct 2015 19:39:01 GMT Download...
Tue, 27 Oct 2015 19:35:42 GMT Download...
Mon, 26 Oct 2015 19:36:38 GMT Download...
Sun, 25 Oct 2015 19:52:30 GMT Download...
Sun, 25 Oct 2015 12:30:20 GMT Download...
Sat, 24 Oct 2015 19:15:52 GMT Download...
Sat, 24 Oct 2015 07:54:53 GMT Download...
Fri, 23 Oct 2015 22:54:36 GMT Download...
Fri, 28 Aug 2015 23:00:00 GMT Download...
Thu, 01 Jan 2009 00:00:00 GMT Download...

Query
OWL ClassOntologyLabelDefinition

Query
TitleAbstract

Query
LabelDescriptionDatasetDatatype(s)

See examples...

Use OBO-style URIs:

SPARQL Endpoint URI:

Versions

Properties